Skip to content

Ubuntu 17.04 and yet another round of I fucked up your resolv.conf for you while you were expecting an improved distro

May

If you have already typed “fucking ubuntu desktop dns broken again” or “internet not working in fresh ubuntu 17.04 install” in your favorite search engine, I hope this post will bring some well deserved relief; it took me nearly two hours of catching up with the latest dumbest “I’m going to try to make things easier for you in the next ubuntu distro and pseudo-manage (read: interfere) with your dns settings, so there won’t be anything left that still makes sense to you.” I thought canonical would have gotten the message “dnsmask sucks big time” from the linux community but that doesn’t seem to be the case. Systemd-resolved seemed an even better idea, maybe a windows 10 background to go alone with that next time?

I know, you may have already downloaded Slackware or FreeBSD in a mad rage yelling phrases like “Mark Shuttle’s worth shit” or maybe scream about the realization: “Linux is supposed to bring me control, not take it away like Microsoft for dummies”

So, even though I strongly recommend to go ahead and download Slackware or maybe a Centos, here’s the quick “leave my dns settings the fuck alone” fix for your Ubuntu addiction on your shiny new Dell laptop (good luck with anything else) trying to run Ubuntu Desktop 17.

 

root@localhost:~# rm -f /etc/resolv.conf

root@localhost:~# ln -s /run/systemd/resolve/resolv.conf /etc/resolv.conf

reboot

 

source: https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/systemd/+bug/1624320

 

 

 

From → linux

One Comment
  1. Annoyed Network Admin permalink

    Good to know I’m not fucking crazy. It’s truly painful to recommend Ubuntu to someone wanting to leave windows and having no ability to access the internet on first boot. I just want my computer to follow the DNS settings of the network it attached to. For all the extra services to provide local caching, you get a few milliseconds faster response time, which nobody can perceive anyways.

    Sigh.

Leave a comment